How to share the Knowledge Base page to groups of users?
Here is what you should do, step by step:
1. Click on the Settings icon (it's the icon with a gear on the right side).
2. Then click on Publish.
3. Click on the Add groups button and check user groups which should get access to the page:
After clicking the Share button, users from the groups you selected will see the page in the Knowledge Base.
What’s the difference between “can edit” and “can view” access?
Information about which groups have access to the page can be found in the Who has access? Section.
Next to the group name we always see one of two icons - an eye or a pencil. The first one informs us that users from this group can see the page content. The pencil icon informs us that users from this group can edit the page, so they can create the content and share the page to other people). At any time, we can change the access settings or delete the group's access to the page (Delete).
Who can see the page if it is not published?
When a page is not published, only users with the "can edit" setting can see it. Thanks to this, several people in the team can work together on the content - without fear that someone will see the page before it's ready.
Why on some pages you can add only users with the "can view" access?
Because we can only add “can edit” access to top-level pages - pages that are highest in the hierarchy.
The top-level page "decides" about the settings on the pages below.
So, users who can edit Product Marketing page can also edit the pages below: Why product marketing matters and Additional content. Editing settings inherited from top-level pages can’t be undone or deleted.
On the pages below, we can add new groups, but only with the "can see" access.
What if I move the page to a new place?
If you move the top-level page under another top-level page, for example, we want to move the Categories and Products page under Articles, then the groups already added to Categories and Products won't lose access to it. But remember that access to this page will also be given to users assigned to Articles page.
Moving pages upper works in a similar way. If we want to move the Learning Category to the highest level, then this page will still be available to all groups from the previous place:
Of course, we will be able to add new groups of users with "can edit" access - just like it happens on every page in the hierarchy.