How does the knowledge base work?
The knowledge base is a space for content that’s available to employees all the time. The content can be a part of a training process or just information that helps employees with their day-to-day tasks.
The knowledge base is available to everyone but you can limit visibility of specific pages if they’re not meant for every employee.
On the left side of the knowledge base you can see the list of articles available to you and tiles that group content.
When you click the name of the article, you can see its content and news and attachments added to the page.
At the top you can find a search bar that allows you to quickly find the content you need.
Creating pages and subpages
To create a knowledge base page, you need to click the big plus. It will open the editor that looks the same when creating both pages and subpages.
Every page can be marked as important to be shown in the Important tile. You have to add a title and then create content.
Besides adding a text, you can also create tables and embed images and videos, both from your computer and from the internet.
You can also upload attachments, just click the little plus. Choose the file from your computer and click Add.
Click another little plus to create news. News are an extension of the page. The news editor is the same as the page editor.
Remember to save changes once in a while not to lose your progress.
Access and other settings
In the upper right corner of every page under three dots you can find settings.
You can publish the page, so that it can become visible to users, you can duplicate the page or move it to trash. The trash can be found under the three dots next to the “Knowledge base” header.
If you choose Settings, you can schedule publication and unpublication. The page can appear for users at some specific time and disappear the same way.
You can also create a lead paragraph that will advertise the page in search results or tiles.
Below you can find three switches. Two of them will allow you to hide attachments and publication date and the last one will allow you to set the date to remove the “Important” label.
The last section of settings allows you to share the page with others. Click Add groups and choose groups of users that will have access to the page. Next, choose if this group will have view or edit access.
When everything is ready, publish the page and it will become visible to users.